Recreational marijuana is legal in Montana, but it's important to consume cannabis responsibly. That means following the rules of the law when it comes to purchasing, possessing and consuming marijuana in Montana. Here's what you need to know.
Yellowstone is more than a park. In Montana, it’s a whole country—an entire ecosystem that doesn’t stop where the park ends. Venture north of the park and find the Yellowstone adventure you had in mind.
Adults age 21 or older can purchase marijuana and marijuana products in Montana, including Montana residents, residents of other U.S. states and territories and international travelers. Valid identification is required for purchase, such as a driver's license or passport.
Recreational marijuana sales are only legal in some counties in Montana, referred to as "green counties." All recreational marijuana is sold from licensed dispensaries in these counties, which include all eight of Glacier Country's counties (Flathead, Glacier, Lake, Lincoln, Mineral, Missoula, Ravalli and Sanders). "Red counties" are counties in Montana where recreational marijuana sales are illegal. View a map of red and green counties here.
Dispensaries sell marijuana flower, edibles, tinctures, vaporizer cartridges, concentrates, topicals, smoking accessories and CBD products. Talk to the experienced "budtenders" to find out which products/strains are the safest and most appropriate for you. You may purchase up to 1 ounce of marijuana per transaction, or the THC equivalent in other forms: 800 milligrams of edibles or 8 grams of concentrate. Possession of larger quantities of marijuana remains illegal in Montana.
When you go to a dispensary, bring:
In Montana, it is legal to possess up to 1 ounce of marijuana, or its THC equivalent in edibles, concentrates and other products.
You may drive with marijuana in your vehicle, however, it must be in its unopened, original packaging and stored outside of the car's passenger area. Per HB 701, it must be located either (a) in a locked glove compartment or storage compartment; (b) in a trunk, luggage compartment, truck bed or cargo compartment; (c) behind the last upright seat of a motor vehicle that is not equipped with a trunk; or (d) in a closed container in the area of a motor vehicle that is not equipped with a trunk and that is not normally occupied by the driver or a passenger.
A person convicted of unlawful possession of a legally permitted quantity of marijuana in a motor vehicle "shall be fined an amount not to exceed $100."
Note: It is ILLEGAL to drive under the influence of marijuana in Montana. Driving under the influence of marijuana can result in a DUI-D, as DUI laws apply to smoking cannabis.
It is illegal to cross state lines with marijuana in your possession. Montana's neighboring states of Idaho and Wyoming maintain strict laws criminalizing marijuana possession. It is also illegal to fly with marijuana.
Keep in mind: The manufacturing, sales and possession of cannabis is still a federal offense and giving or selling cannabis to anyone under the age of 21 is illegal.
2 days ago
1 week ago
2 weeks ago
It’s #NationalParkWeek and we want to hear your park story about our fave place, @GlacierNPS. Tweet a fun GNP memor… https://t.co/weKGsEahil