Links and Resources Glacier National Park & Western Montana

Links and Resources

Western Montana Travel Resources

We’re ready for your visit. Which means we’re here to help answer your questions, whether you’re wondering where to stay, what to do or just looking for the best place to grab a burger or cast your fishing line. Below you’ll find a list of organizations available to answer your questions before you come, when you’re here or the next time you come back.


Tourist Information:

Crown of the Continent 406.862.6793 www.crownofthecontinent.net
Discover Kalispell 406.758.2800 www.discoverkalispell.com
Glacier National Park 406.888.7800 www.nps.gov/glac
Glacier-Waterton International Peace Park   www.pc.gc.ca
Destination Missoula 800.526.3465 www.destinationmissoula.org
State of Montana 406.444.2511 www.mt.gov
Montana Office of Tourism 800.847.4868 www.visitmt.com
Whitefish Convention and Visitors Bureau 877.862.3548 www.explorewhitefish.com

Chambers:

Montana Chamber of Commerce 406.443.7888 www.montanachamber.com

Region 1

Bigfork Chamber of Commerce 406.837.5888 www.bigfork.org
Browning Chamber of Commerce 406.338.2344 www.browningmontana.com/chamber
Columbia Falls Chamber of Commerce 406.892.2072 www.columbiafallschamber.com
Cut Bank Area Chamber of Commerce 406.873.4041 www.cutbankchamber.com
East Glacier Park 406.226.4403 www.eastglacierpark.info
Kalispell Area Chamber of Commerce 406.758.2800 www.kalispellchamber.com
Lakeside-Somers Chamber of Commerce 406.844.3715 www.lakesidesomers.org
Polson Chamber of Commerce 406.883.5969 www.polsonchamber.com
Ronan Chamber of Commerce 406.676.8300 www.ronanchamber.com
St. Ignatius Chamber of Commerce 406.745.4462 www.missionmontana.org
Swan Lake Chamber of Commerce 406.886.2080  
Whitefish Chamber of Commerce 406.862.3501 www.whitefishchamber.org

Region 2

Bitterroot Valley Chamber of Commerce 406.363.2400 www.bitterrootvalleychamber.com
Destination Missoula 800.526.3465 www.destinationmissoula.org
Missoula Area Chamber of Commerce 406.543.6623 www.missoulachamber.com
Seeley Lake Area Chamber of Commerce 406.677.2880 www.seeleylakechamber.com

Region 3

Eureka Area Chamber of Commerce 406.889.4636 www.welcome2eureka.com
Greater Thompson Falls Chamber of Commerce 406.827.4930 www.thompsonfallschamber.com
Hot Springs Chamber of Commerce 406.741.2662 www.hotspringsmtchamber.org
Libby Area Chamber of Commerce 406.293.4167 www.libbychamber.org
Mineral County Chamber of Commerce 406.649.6400 www.montanarockies.org
Plains-Paradise Chamber of Commerce 406.826.4700 www.wildhorseplainschamber.com
St. Regis Visitor Information Center 406.649.2290  
Troy Chamber of Commerce 406.295.1064 www.troymtchamber.org

Additional Information

Blackfeet Indian Reservation 406.338.7521 www.blackfeetnation.com
Blackfoot Challenge 406.793.3900 www.blackfootchallenge.org
Bureau of Land Management 406.896.5000 www.blm.gov/mt
Clark Fork Coalition 406.542.0539 www.clarkfork.org
Confederated Salish and Kootenai Tribes 406.675.2700 www.cskt.org
Department of Natural Resources and Conservation 406.444.2074 www.dnrc.mt.gov
Flathead Coalition www.flatheadcoalition.org
Fly Fishing Montana www.glaciertoyellowstone.com
Glacier Country Avalanche Center 406.257.8402 www.glacieravalanche.org
Glacier Park Inc 406.892.2525 www.glacierparkinc.com
Humane Society of Western Montana 406.549.3934 www.myhswm.org
Ice Age Floods Institute www.iceagefloodsinstitute.org
Montana Department of Transportation 800.226.7623 www.mdt.mt.gov
Montana Dude Rancher's Association 888.284.4133 www.montanadra.com
Montana Fish, Wildlife and Parks 406.444.2535 www.fwp.mt.gov
Montana Historical Society 406.444.2694 www.his.state.mt.us
Montana Historical Society Preservation Board 406.444.7715 www.mhs.mt.gov/shpo
Montana In Business 406.523.5213 www.mtinbusiness.com
Montana Kids 800.847.4868 www.montanakids.com
Montana Magazine 888.666.8624 www.montanamagazine.com
Montana Natural History Center 406.327.0405 www.montananaturalist.org
Montana State Parks 406.444.3750 stateparks.mt.gov
Sustainable Living Systems 406.642.3601 www.sustainablelivingsystems.org
University of Montana 406.243.0211 www.umt.edu
US Forest Service 800.832.1355 www.fs.fed.us
Western Montana Fair 406.721.3247 www.westernmontanafair.com
Western Montana Mycological Association www.fungaljungal.org
Western Montana National Railway Historical Society www.mtnwestrail.com/wmnrhs
Western Montana School For Guides 406.821.0017 www.guidetraining.com

Newspapers

Bigfork Eagle www.bigforkeagle.com
Bitterroot Star www.bitterrootstar.com
Char-Koosta News www.charkoosta.com
Clark Fork Chronicle www.clarkforkchronicle.com
Cut Bank Pioneer Press www.cutbankpioneerpress.com
Daily Inter Lake www.dailyinterlake.com
Flathead Beacon www.flatheadbeacon.com
Glacier Reporter www.glacierreporter.com
Hungry Horse News www.hungryhorsenews.com
Lively Times www.livelytimes.com
Missoulian www.missoulian.com
Missoula Independent www.missoulanews.com
Montana Kaimin, University of Montana www.montanakaimin.com
Ravalli Republic www.ravallirepublic.com
Tobacco Valley News www.tobaccovalleynews.com
Veterans' Voice of Montana, The www.mtvetsvoice.com
Western News, The www.thewesternnews.com
Whitefish Pilot www.whitefishpilot.com

Discover


Call For Expert Help

1.800.338.5072

You might also like

More Links & Resources to help you plan your Montana vacation.

Western Montana's Glacier Country

News from Glacier National Park: Currently all 50 miles of the Going-to-the-Sun Road are open for travel.View Full Road Report

Events

Bird Woman Falls

An icon in Glacier National Park, Bird Woman Falls is a glistening 492-foot-high waterfall that cascades down the side of Mt. Oberlin. From West Glacier, travel the Going-to-the-Sun Road to Bird Woman Falls Overlook, located on the west side of the Continental Divide.

Trail of the Cedars

This short boardwalk trail (ADA accessible) takes visitors through an old growth cedar forest. It’s also the beginning of the Avalanche Lake Trail (just over two miles long) that leads to Avalanche Lake—one of the most popular day hikes in Glacier National Park. Trail of the Cedars is located about five and a half miles north of Lake McDonald Lodge.

Drive the Going-to-the-Sun Road

If your time in Glacier National Park is limited, one must-see attraction is the Going-to-the-Sun Road. This 50-mile long road takes travelers between St. Mary and West Glacier through the heart of the park, crossing the Continental Divide at Logan Pass. There are numerous pullouts along the road, ideal for taking photographs and enjoying the scenery.

See a Glacier

As you’re traveling the Going-to-the-Sun Road, pull over at Jackson Glacier Overlook (located east of Logan Pass). The overlook offers the best opportunity to see a glacier from the road.

Many Glacier Valley

Home to incredible mountains, active glaciers, abundant wildlife and miles of hiking trails, Many Glacier is located in the northwest section of Glacier National Park. Trails leave from this valley in numerous directions, with popular hiking destinations including Iceberg Lake, Grinnell Lake and Ptarmigan Tunnel.